Apple and Sage Galette with Salted Maple Caramel Sauce

Apple and Sage Galette with Salted Maple Caramel by Burnt Butter Bakery

Now, I just adore sage. I love it and I eat it all the time. But I realised recently, only ever in savoury dishes. Pork, apple and sage? Delicious! Burnt Butter and sage over gnocchi? One of my favourite dishes. But I don’t think I’ve ever even seen a sweet recipe featuring sage. It seems particularly strange to me considering how good apple and sage are together.

You’ve probably noticed by now that I like to use herbs in a lot of my baking. But it can be tricky. You can’t go adding herbs to anything, you’ve got to know what flavours work well together, and whether the herbal element will take over the character of the dish. My advice is to start small. You want the herb to be a slow-burn, an aftertaste almost, that has people thinking ‘this is so familiar, but I can’t pick what it is!’. You definitely don’t want people thinking ‘now, that is just weird‘, which can happen when the herb is the first taste that people encounter.

Apple and Sage Galette with Salted Maple Caramel by Burnt Butter BakeryI like this recipe because the sage is a subtle addition, and it works perfectly against the burnt butter, each bringing out the other’s unique flavour while blending harmoniously. A galette is insanely easy to make as well. Just a simple pie dough molded around a generous pile of fruit, doused with sage-infused burnt butter and sprinkled with a hint of brown sugar.

The sauce too is just oh-my-god sublime. I know I said that my burnt honey glaze from a few weeks back was my favourite, but this bad boy has taken over. Maple caramel? Yes please. It takes the galette from simple to stunning. The recipe makes more than enough, so you can put it on ice cream, pancakes… See the slices of apple in the photos? Immediately after taking these shots I dunked them in the maple caramel and scoffed them down. Perfection!

While it’s Spring here and (finally!) the sun is shining, I hope that my overseas readers will enjoy the perfect Autumn flavours in this galette. I also apologise about the lack of photos in this post, the sun was going down and these two were the only pictures I managed to salvage from a very blurry bunch!

Apple and Sage Galette with Salted Maple Caramel Sauce

Adapted from Bon Apetite 
Pastry
150g/1 cup plain (all-purpose) flour
15g/1 tbsp. white (granulated) sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
85g/3 oz. unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes
1 large egg, lightly whisked

Whisk together the flour, sugar and salt. Add the butter and rub in until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs with a few larger pea-sized lumps of butter dispersed throughout.*
Drizzle the egg over and mix until the dough just comes together.
Turn the dough out onto a clean surface and give it a quick knead to incorporate the drier bits. Shape into a round, cover in plastic wrap and chill for at least 1 hour.

Notes
* I included a more thorough description of my foolproof pastry-making method in an earlier post, here.

Filling
60g/2 oz./1/2 stick unsalted butter
10 sage leaves
1/2 a vanilla bean, split
450g/1 pound Pink Lady apples (about 2 large apples)
50g/3 tbsp. firmly packed brown sugar
Egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 tbsp. water and a pinch of salt)
Raw sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 190°C/375°F.
Place the butter and vanilla bean in a small saucepan over medium heat. Once the butter has melted, add the sage. Stir continuously as the butter foams and then browns.* Remove from the heat and strain to remove the sage leaves and vanilla bean.
Once chilled, roll your dough out to a 12″ round then transfer to a baking sheet lined with baking paper.
Arrange the apples in the center, leaving a border of about an inch.
Brush the apples generously with the browned butter and sprinkle over the brown sugar.
Fold the dough over to partially encase the filling. Brush the pastry with egg wash and sprinkle with raw sugar. Bake until the apples are soft and the pastry a deep golden.

Notes
* I included a more thorough description of the browning butter process in a earlier post, here.

4 thoughts on “Apple and Sage Galette with Salted Maple Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

