Not Another Baking Blog…

Begin at the beginning… and go on till you come to the end, then stop.
Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

I suppose it’s a bit early to start thinking about the end, this being my first post and all, but what better a way to start a blog then with some words from Mr. Carroll himself.

This blog is the natural next step to my all-consuming obsession with anything baked, sweet, and inherently unhealthy. My nearest and dearest (and their ever-expanding waistlines) will attest to my willingness to foist upon them home baked treats, whether the occasion calls for it or not. Then there’s my predilection for boring them to tears with lectures on the relative merits of Swiss over Italian meringue buttercream, or why I prefer to use kitchen scales rather than measuring cups. I figured I should find myself an outlet while I still have friends, and so here I am.

Why Burnt Butter Bakery? Well, I put off (and off, and off…) starting a blog because I just could not come up with a name that properly summed up my approach to cooking, and sounded cool to boot. Then, one day, as I prodded at the pasta sauce spluttering away on my stove top, it hit me like a rock to the back of the head. Burnt butter. It’s a bit punk rock, it’s a little wrong, and a whole lot delicious. It’s versatile as hell. It can be sweet or savoury. It can be pushed right to the edge, and it’s so goddamn simple. ‘And the bakery part?’, I hear you ask? Eh, I guess I just love me a bit of alliteration.

4 thoughts on “Not Another Baking Blog…

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere! I can’t wait to read more from you, you seem like such an amazing person :) I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging as much as we all do here <3

    Like

  2. It is truly a pleasure to meet you Cecily! Oh, you and I are going to get along wonderfully, because I too, have this unhealthy obsession with all that is sweet… and all that is savory. I look forward to getting to know you…and cannot wait to see what you have up your sleeve! <3

    Like

Leave a Reply

